Edit (Lock)
To guarantee reliable management of object revisions, changes to an object in a specific generation set can only
be done by one person at a time. When a developer locks an object, he gets his own version which nobody else
can edit while he has it locked. Previous versions of the object that exist in the same generation set will
then also get read-only access for all developers. Other developers can read (not edit) the currently locked
version provided they have set their Personal
Options accordingly. If the object exists in other generation sets, it will, however, be available for editing
by other developers.
For example: An object having revision 1.4 exists in generation sets Development
and Function Test.
- When a developer locks the object in Development then no other developers can edit it there.
- All previous revisions in Development acquire read-only access.
- Function Test revision 1.4 will be available for editing by other developers, but this will
create a branch which gets revision number 1.4.1.
- Similarly, if the revision in Function Test is locked, all previous revisions in that
generation set acquire read-only access.
- An object can be locked by selecting the object and clicking the "lock" icon in the top toolbar of your screen
or the button "Edit (Lock)" in the Revision Control
screen.
- A new revision number is assigned when the object is checked in, which also releases the developer's lock.
- An object can either be unlocked in the Revision
Control
screen, the Current Locks screen (using the button "Unlock") or in the Repository screen (using the popup menu
option
"Revision Control - Unlock").
-
In case of an unlock, no new revision is created for the object, and the changes that have been made to the object
are lost.